Calendar is loading...
- Available
- Booked

Time Slots*:




Motorcycle model:

Motorcycle Registration*:

As a UK road user you have a duty of care to ensure your motorbike is roadworthy. And the only formal way of declaring your motorbike as roadworthy is to pass the Ministry of Transport (MOT) test.

Your motorbike does not require an MOT until it is three years old however once it is you will need to pass an MOT every year to keep your bike legally on the road.

Riding without a valid MOT can result in a £1,000 fine and will definitely invalidate your insurance – an equally costly business if you’re involved in an accident and need to claim.

What does the motorbike MOT test cover?

The motorbike MOT test is designed to ensure that your bike is roadworthy and as a result it’s a thorough and extensive test that looks at all the vital aspects of your bike

1. Seats – You need a seat to pass an MOT (shock).
2. Horn – Your horn needs to work and it must be the correct type.
3. Licence plates/frame and vehicle ID number – Your registration plates, vehicle ID and frame number all need to be legible and on your bike.
4. Lights – Your headlamp, rear lights, indicators and reflectors all need to work properly, be secure and in good.5. Tyres and wheels – Your tyres must be secure and in good condition, as should your wheels. Tyres should also be fitted properly, have the legal tread depth and good valve condition.
6. Wheel alignment – Your front and rear wheels must be aligned properly.
7. Footrests – Must be present and secure.
8. Clutch lever – Must not be damaged in any way or shortened. It must be easily operated.
9. Throttle – Must work properly.
10. Braking – The condition, operation and performance of your brakes will be tested, as well as the controls.
11. Steering and suspension – The condition, operation and performance of your steering and suspension will be tested thoroughly. This is one of the longest parts of the test.
12. Drive chain and sprocket – Your chain’s tension and condition will be assessed, with the chain guard checked for security. Your sprockets will be checked for wear.
13. Frame – The general condition of your frame will be checked, looking for cracks, damage and corrosion.
14. Exhaust system – Noise and security are checked.
15. Fuel system – Security is monitored alongside checks for leaks

I don’t agree with my MOT test result?

You can disagree with an MOTs findings and if that’s the case you must complete a VT17 form (available from test stations) or call 0300 123 9000 within 14 days of the fail.

%d bloggers like this: